Roasted Acorn Squash

Hello friends!

DSC_1066

It was quite an eventful week in Boston last week. The red sox won the world series and there was a Champions Parade last Saturday to celebrate their victory. C and I went with a couple of friends to the parade and it was packed. However, it was great to see all the excitement!

DSC_1038

It was my first time going to a parade to celebrate a team’s victory and I really enjoyed it! I love seeing all the fans line up to cheer for the team and to see the team themselves.

DSC_1060

I was really glad to be apart of something as special as this.

DSC_1068

Alright, now let’s talk about food. Last week I made roasted acorn squash since I bought two acorn squash from the farmers market for only $1!!!

DSC_0958

This was my first time making the acorn squash for C and I to try. I tasted acorn squash before back in college, but I have never made it myself. However, I did remember liking it very much so I decided to give it a try.

The squash was really easy to make and was really delicious too. I used butter and brown sugar to drizzle over the squash, which created a nice glaze over the squash.

DSC_0969acorn squash

DSC_0989DSC_0993

I then roast it for 50 minutes. The squash turned out great and was even better when I assembled it in a salad, which consisted of sautéed kale and 4 oz of baked chicken breast.

DSC_1003

So delicious and healthy! C also loved the squash as well and he is not a vegetable lover. I can’t wait to experiment more with acorn squash and other squash as well!

acorn squash

Roasted Acorn Squash //Yield: 3 servings   

Ingredients:
1 Medium acorn squash, wash and clean
1 Tbsp butter, melted
1 Tbsp brown sugar

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degree F.
2. Cut the squash in half and remove all the seeds and fibers. Then cut the squash into half moon shape and place on an oiled sheet tray.
3. Next, mix the butter with brown sugar and drizzle the butter mixture on the squash.
4. Put it in the oven and roast it for 50 minutes or until the center is tender. Enjoy by itself or with a salad like I did!

Nutritional facts per serving: 124 calories, 23g carbs, 4g fat, 1g protein, 6g fiber

Leave a Reply

