Pumpkin Pie Cinnamon Rolls

DSC_0604

Fall is one of my favorite seasons. I love how the leaves changes color, the weather gets cold enough so that you can wear your boots and thick sweaters, and the fact that pumpkin is in season again. I love pumpkin and I made it a tradition to bake something pumpkin once fall starts. The first thing I baked once I bought my first can of pumpkin was a pumpkin latte bread, which I also drizzled some nutella on because C requested it. It was good but I forgot to take a picture of it and that’s why I don’t have a post about it for you. However, the second thing I made was the pumpkin pie cinnamon rolls and it was amazing! C loved it so much that I have made it twice already. It is not the healthiest dessert but it sure is satisfying and it’s ok to indulge in moderation right?

DSC_0606

I used store bought Pillsbury crescent round doughs to make these cinnamon rolls to save time. It only took me about 30 minutes to put it together. The result was a fluffy, slightly sweet, soft pumpkin pie cinnamon rolls. It literally melted in my mouth. And to make it even better, I also made the pumpkin pie cream cheese frosting, which I drizzled on top. It was delicious.

DSC_0600

These rolls were gone in less than an hour. It was that good and I bet it would taste even better with a cup of coffee too.

DSC_0607

Pumpkin Pie Cinnamon Rolls

Recipe from Diet Hood

7 Servings

Ingredients: 
1 can crescent round doughs
1 Tbsp butter, melted
1/4 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 Tbsp milk (I used almond milk)
1/8 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

For the frosting:
2 oz reduced fat cream cheese
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/4 pumpkin pie spice
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

To make the pumpkin pie cinnamon rolls:
1. Preheat the oven to 375 degree F.
2. Lightly greased an 9X5 loaf pan with non-stick cooking spray and set aside.
3. Separate the dough and roll it out on a cutting board.
4. Brush the dough with melted butter.
5. In a small bowl, mix together the  pumpkin puree, milk, brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice.
6. Evenly spread the pumpkin filling on the dough.
7. Carefully roll the dough and lightly pinch the edges together.
8. Cut the dough into small circles and place it in the loaf pan.
9. Bake for 16 minutes, or until tops are golden brown.

To make the frosting: In a small bowl, mix together the cream cheese, powdered sugar, pumpkin pie spice and vanilla extract until it is creamy.

To assemble: After the cinnamon rolls are cool, top each rolls with 1 Tbsp of the frosting. Enjoy (in moderation of course)!

Leave a Reply

